Grape Dumplings

This is the most delicious dessert in the world! I can, and have, make myself sick on these. We used muscadine juice at home, but Welch’s concord grape is a passable substitute.

Mix 2cups flour, 3t soda, 4t sugar and 1/2t salt in a bowl. Cut in 2T lard or shortening. Mix in 1cup grape juice. Roll dough in your hands and break off peices about the size of big grapes.

Drop them in a pan of boiling grape juice and boil 10 minutes or so.

If you can make chicken dumplings, grape dumplings are a snap!  Granny said long ago we used the innards of cattails instead of flour.  And homemade muscadine juice is pulpy, but like I said, I use Welch’s when I just want some comfort food.  These and a grilled cheese made with block american and oleo, and I am consoled for days.  Or some frybread.

1 comment
  1. Sounds interesting. I react the same way to my grandmother’s pfeffernuse cookies. Nothing like them, ever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

